Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

[Undergrad] CIE Student Interested in Studying Med In Australia?

Littlebro

Hi all,

I am a student in NZ studying Cambridge exams and I'm curious to see if anyone knows how Australian Medical Schools (like Melbourne, Sydney, Newcastle) rank students taking these.
Like how many A* would put one in a good place for an interview?

And also, what UMAT raw mark/percentile do you need to get?

Any info from anyone who has gone through this process would be appreciated :)

frootloop

Doctor
I'll do the obligatory warning:

Australia has a pretty massive oversupply of medical graduates. Right now, New Zealanders who study there are category one for internships. But by the time you'd graduate in 6 or so years time, it'd be entirely possible that New Zealanders studying in Aus could miss out on jobs to ensure all of the Australians get one. And NZ has oversupply issues of its own (last year it took a last-minute mad scrambe to ensure all domestic students got jobs), so it'd be pretty difficult to come home for PGY1 if you missed out in Australia. Even if you did get a PGY1 job over there, their training pipeline is more congested than ours further up as well.

So going to Australia to avoid the competitive first year entry at Otago/Auckland would be very much at your own risk.

Then there's the issue of paying for your study and the costs of living while you're over there. My understanding is that New Zealanders aren't eligible for an Australian student loan for the first few years, so you'd have to front up probably > $10,000 per year in course fees, buy all of your books/materials and cover all of your living costs. If your parents are super rich, that might not be an issue for you. But if not, you're going to have to find an awful lot of money from somewhere.