Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

CSU's applicant consideration process

Hey everyone :D Just have a question about how CSU applications are considered.

Firstly, is the GPA of an applicant simply a hurdle to make it on the list of applications to be read by Professor Wilson?

While the success in being offered an interview is significantly dependent on their work experience and the handwritten response to the Professor/Head of School?

Last edited:
Also, does being a resident of a city area decrease my chances of being accepted? I heard that CSU looks more favourably upon rural applicants o_O

miss_universe

muse.
Emeritus Staff
[MENTION=10872]mighty[/MENTION] and [MENTION=6084]Hutcherson[/MENTION] could answer this for you :)

the cat

Hutcherson or Mighty can probably answer this question better than me (as I'm only in 1st year), but I'll give you what I think anyway.
GPA is considered very highly in the selection process at CSU from the start to the end.
You would have to satisfy the GPA cut off for your application to be considered first of all.
Your written application (including work experience) and GPA would then be considered for an interview. An excellent written application and a high GPA would see you in for an interview. Last year there were over 1000 applications, and only 100 got selected for an interview (as normal).
Your interview score + your written application score would be used to determine if you have earned yourself at place at CSU.
I would give 102% effort in all 3 criteria! Goodluck with everything!

the cat

CSU does look more favourably upon rural applicants.
However, more than half my classmates are from the city as well (myself included). It all depends on how well you perform in the 3 criteria: GPA, written application and interview.