Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Optometrist starting salary in Australia?

q777

Hey guys.
I am a student at UoA New Zealand and intend to apply for BOptom at the end of this year. I would just like to know what the career outlook of optometrist is in both Australia and New Zealand. From my knowledge, optometrist in NZ has average starting salary around 58K in large cities such as Auckland and Wellington. That is not very high for a degree that requires 5 yrs of study = =... I would like to know what the starting salary for Australian optometrists are? I have seem some threads in this forum stating that graduate optometrist in Aussie can earn as high as 100K a year. I wonder if that is possible because 58K in NZ and 100K in Aus is such a big difference. And also how is the employment opportunity for optometrist in Aus?? NZ optom graduates seem to be struggling finding jobs in urban area.

Cheers

q777

How long would it take for the pay to increase to 100K =)? Does pay increase if graduate optometrist moves to rural area??? =>

drose1

Personally, i dun really know cuz i'm not an optometrist. Depends if there's a shortage of optometrist in rural area, but i would say the salary may be a bit higher?

good luck ;p

dew_angel

Hey q777,

My friend who just finished Optom in Auckland has a starting salary in Chch of 95K. I know of another person who got starting 120k. However they were brilliant people who graduated with honours. But yeah I reckon starting is more around 70-80k. I got an offer for BOptom but dunno what to do :S

tx2

Starting salary is around 60K, but a probably a bit less in cities which have an optometry school due to so many graduates in that area. This is probably gonna change in 5-6 years as there has been a new optom school opening up (Flinders Uni in South Australia) and another one (RMIT in Victoria) possibly opening next year.