Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Pharmacy or Biotechnology?

mso

Lurker
Hello Everyone :D
I'm an IB graduate and I scored 38 points. However, I really can't decide whether to enter the Pharmacy programme or the Biotechnology programme

Which is better/area of future-growth?

Moreover, is 38 in IB considered a good score? Will I be guaranteed a Pharmacy Interview?

Thanks a lot! :)

thedon5

I am also interested.

Does anyone know a rough overview of either course, what you'd be studying and the job prospects with each with a bachelor's?

My current backup to medicine is some sort of research, I was definitely keen to do a doctorate in pharmacy, now I'm considering the doctorate in biotechnology. What are the differences in research in these fields, are they very interchangeable (i.e. can I do pharmaceutical research with a doctorate in biotechnology), and how do they compare to research using a medical degree?

Thanks!

Sam

¿umm?
I think Pharmacy in Aus is a little bit bloated, but not entirely sure on that one.

As for research, it really depends on what you are in interested in - do you have a passion for drugs (drug design, dosage form science etc.) or biotech? Either of the fields are in pretty high demand in terms of industry research/development. In the end I would pick what you have a passion for, if you are dedicated enough in the field you pick you'll go far!

thedon5

Yeah I believe it is bloated there, here in NZ it should be OK though.

Well that's part of the problem, I have a passion for both really. I enjoy organic chemistry and the likes of biochemistry and drug delivery and doing some fairly basic biotechnology and gene technology in my biology course was definitely exciting as well.

Sam

¿umm?
Yeah I believe it is bloated there, here in NZ it should be OK though.