1. UMAT 2017 will be held on the 26th July! Good luck to all test takers!

Dismiss Notice

Rates of mental health issues in med students/physicians

Discussion in 'Studying Medicine' started by nastya47, Jul 8, 2017.

1. nastya47

nastya47 Member

Hi all :)

I was just looking into the rates of mental health issues in medical students and physicians. I know there are plenty of reports on this online, but I wanted to get a primary insight from you guys - how bad is it?

And, how do you guys handle the pressure of such a demanding profession? Any tips on handling it?

I am a Year 12 student, and having been busting my absolute a** off this year trying to get perfect marks. I struggle with trying to perfect in everything I do, which in hindsight seems relatively benign/ even a blessing to some extent, but recently it has been really getting me down - because obviously, I am always dissatisfied with my achievements/with myself as a person. Any tips?

Many thanks,
    S

sammy04 likes this.
  2. pi

pi Monash MBBS(Hons) V, BMedSc(Hons) Moderator

I suspect a lot of people in medicine are like you in this regard, and I suspect this is also part of the reason (a topic for another conversation perhaps) medical students have high rates of mental illness and suicide. Honestly, maintaining this perfectionism, especially as a badge of honour, is not really compatible with being healthy in medical school or as a doctor, where in both cases you'll see many many people better than you and you'll make heaps of mistakes.