1. MSO strongly supports marriage equality for same-sex couples. We believe that this will lead to better outcomes for all Australians. #voteyes
    Dismiss Notice
  2. MSO wishes all year 12's sitting their final exams the best of luck. May your pens never run out and your pages never stick.
    Dismiss Notice

[Undergrad] UNSW vs Monash

Discussion in 'Studying Medicine' started by kwgreen, Oct 11, 2017.

?

UNSW vs Monash

1. UNSW

25.0%
  2. Monash

75.0%
  1. kwgreen

kwgreen New Member

I'm having trouble deciding which Uni to go to and would really appreciate any input to help with my decision.
    I was accepted into UNSW and Monash last year, and deferred, and its coming up to that time when I have to make the all important decision and enroll.

I am a rural student that lives halfway between Melbourne and Sydney, so I will be moving away for university.

I understand that UNSW is a 6 year degree, and Monash is a 5 Year degree, and that pushes me toward Monash. Can someone comment on the ILP year and whether it is worth it/difficult aswell as whih uni offers a better course?

I'd also like to hear about the Universities in general and the things they offer - location, accommodation, library, catering etc.

Money is a big consideration for me, and with UNSW I can do Phase 2&3 at the Rural Clinical School closer to home, which actually makes UNSW cheaper, even though its a longer degree in a more expensive city.

Sell it to me!!!

2. pi

pi Monash MBBS(Hons) V, BMedSc(Hons) Moderator

Welcome to MSO! I can't speak for UNSW having never been there, but I can speak for Monash. I'm in my final year of the degree (only 3 weeks to go - but who's counting!?!), have been at most of the clinical schools, and did the optional BMedSc(Hons) research year as well, so here's my take on your question.