Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

UNSW UNSW Medicine: Accommodation and Colleges

Colleges at UNSW

HAHA This looks like it is heading towards a good old-fashioned show-down between ex-Collegians re UNSW Colleges. Nothing like the old rivalry eh? That's why I joined up today to post my own 2 bob's worth! Snuffbox is clearly a New College res - it is def not the newest and is rather run-down.

I'm in third year Med and went to Basser but before that I was at the 'dreaded' Warrane. It's funny how it has that sort of reputation. I didn't really escape Warrane but quite a couple of mates moved to UNSW and were at Basser so I went to join them. I made some good friends at Warrane and they are good blokes. They also have good tutors, a couple of whom I am still mates with.

I think the Warrane reputation comes from the girl policy - which seems much worse from outside. Basically b/c it is all male and Catholic, you can't take girls upstairs to your room... I actually met my girlfriend through a Warrane guy so that puts the all-male thing in perspective...

Also some might be put off by the 'attention' you get. There are heaps of academic and residential tutors, and formal dinner every week, which you sort of have to go to. If you're keen on high-achieving or if you might need some encouraging to study, then it could be a good option. It is also good for sport, inter-floor rivalry, pub nights, and quite entertaining 'cultural' evenings. There is a staff member who is Irish and St Pats did go off! You can drink where and when you like but they don't like you play 'drinking games' etc. basically they don't want people to get drunk...