Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

What are my chances?

jiaxing

Hey everyone,

I'm currently studying a Masters degree from Western Sydney University, and I want to do Dentistry in 2019. So, I was wondering if you guys can provide me with some insight as to what my chances are for Dentistry. My results are as follows:

ATAR: 96.80.
GPA of Masters degree: 6.714.
GPA of undergraduate degree: 5.125.
UMAT: Sitting it next year.

I'm looking at applying to all universities, particularly Griffith and JCU.

So, can anybody please give me some insight?

acbard9

Auckland MBChB
Hi :) Can't help ya with the numbers in particular, but JCU also has a written application. I feel like if you nail that, you'd have a good chance. I know that a 7 guarantees entry at Griffith. Neither Griffith nor JCU use UMAT.

A very good UMAT could land you a place at UQ, and an interview at CSU and an interview at UAdel (where Interview + UMAT counts more than ATAR/GPA).

Your Master's GPA alone (if used instead of your ATAR) may be good enough for LaTrobe, but I'm unsure as to whether La Trobe will use your undergraduate GPA too.

MSO is not traditionally well-versed in previous Dent applications, particularly post-graduate applicants.

Have you tried PagingDr? Are you thinking about sitting the GAMSAT?

EtA: For further information, refer to this: 2017-18 Dent schools Selection Criteria Y12s & Non-standards

DDest

UAdel BDS III
Hello!

Just adding to acbard9 excellent information, for the UQ it depends if your Masters was by Coursework or Research.

For a Coursework Masters, then the maximum entry rank is 97 (which is still not enough for UQ).

In 2016, the initial interview offer rounds for UAdel required a UMAT score of at least 92/93 percentile. (See the thread here: Adelaide Dentistry Entry 2017)