Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Previous study not completed - disadvantage?

Mowwee

Lurker
Hi guys - I am mature age & looking to study medicine (should I be accepted!). I previously studied for a BSc at Melb Uni (1997 onwards), but because of personal issues I took several leave of absences, & eventually discontinued my studies in 3rd year. My marks were pretty good, but I'm worried that the fact that I didn't finish my previous studies may refect badly on me (I had to present my case to the Academic Review Panel at one stage, although I was successful!). Any advice? Thanks in advance.

Mowwee

Lurker
Hi - I am considering trying to get acceptance into studying medicine. I am a mature age student. I studied for a BSc at Melb Uni from 1997 onwards, but due to my life circumstances at the time, I did not finish.
Here's the truth - I have an extensive history of major depression, and drug addiction. Thankfully both conditions are well under control now, after lots of therapy and effort. Prior to going completely off the rails, I was sometimes able to achieve results in the top 5% of my state, so I'm reasonably confident that I might get in. My concern is that my past history might completely destroy my chances. In the light of what I was dealing with, my past results are quite amazing, but in revealing the truth, will I actually do more harm than good? Anyone have experience with this? Will they find out anyway (Gov records of Methadone program recipients etc)? Thanks X

Mana

there are no stupid questions, only people
Administrator
You might find that the main issue that prevents you from using your prior marks to enter medicine isn't that you didn't finish your degree but rather that your study was more than 10 years ago. LMG! might be able to help you more here if the issue is how long ago your study was.