Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

[Undergrad] EAS/SCATS/UES/SEAS General Discussion and Enquiries

Hello the general community of MSO,

I am a year 12 student from NSW who is completing the HSC this year and wishes to study medicine next year. However I recently received my UMAT which was extremely disappointing sitting at only 82 percentile (172 -58/49/66).

Initially I was thinking of apply for UNSW, UWS, JMP as well as UQ, UAdel, JCU, Monash and even UWA for interstate unis. But since my umat is so low and my predicted atar is probably around 97-98 I am uncertain about my chances of getting an interview anywhere.

Despite this, I am eligible to apply for EAS under category two (severe family illness) in hopes of a greater chance of being considered. How much would this help me if let’s say I work hard in the next month and a bit and I get around 99 atar at the end of the year?

Also if I am applying for the EAS scheme for interstate as well do I need to fill in separate EAS applications for every state? Like one for QTAC, one for VTAC etc or can I use the EAS form which would be filled out when applying under UAC in NSW? I also would like to know when the application needs to be in by as well as the different procedures for different unis in applying for medicine in general.

I hope the above makes sense because it would honestly be a dream come true if I am offered a chance to study medicine (bonded/unbonded/remote campus whatever I’m willing to take).

Thanks guys!!

Ruffle

Puffle
Emeritus Staff
Hey there! :)
82 %ile is still a really good result, don't be disappointed! The UMAT field is tough so getting into the top 20 percent is already an achievement.
JCU may still be up for grabs if you submit a written application.