Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Dentistry Entry Discussion and Questions

Dentine

Not sure if this is the best place to post for counsel, but I see there are heaps of learned people in here, with lots of experience and wisdom Re: dent transfers, and I would be extremely grateful for some opinions.

I completed a Bachelor of Agriculture Science at Melbourne University last year. Though I had initially aspired to become a Vet (and have recently received offers to both Unimelb, and CSU), my exposure to rural communities and anxiety about the future of Vet as a profession in Aus, has me thinking of changing to Dentistry.

Foolishly, due to the nature of the Unimelb Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine selection, which only considers marks for 2nd and 3rd year subjects, I was incredibly negligent in my first year. Though my second and third year marks were fairly strong (~79 average) I have ended with a Wam of 72.4.

I am wondering what recourse or passage others would suggest for me to achieve a transfer to Dentistry?

Presently I am considering my options, and am contemplating spending 2019 in a Bachelor of Biomedicine or Bachelor of Health Sciences at La Trobe, shooting an 85+ WAM there in my first year (which I believe is viewed as a GPA of 7 across every other institute in Australia), sitting the UCAT/UMAT and applying to: La Trobe (internal transfer), Griffith, Charles Sturt, Adelaide, UQ, and University of Otago. Does this seem like a viable passage, or is there a better alternative I should be considering?

All of these are viable options, you may as well sit the UMAT* and increase your chances when applying next year. Also note that most dent courses, particularly JCU etc will require rural exposure and a number of graduates do work rurally for some time due to the high city numbers.