Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

UQ/Ochsner and Griffith MD Programs

Hello!

I am an international student accepted to the UQ-Ochsner and Griffith International MD Programs. However, I’ve began to hear rumors that international students are given unfair treatment during exams and that professors would deliberately fail you for reasons other than ‘the student did not study hard enough.’ Is this true for both programs? Also, do both of these schools give guidance to international students as to how to successfully secure an internship in Australia after graduation?

Thank you!

Crow

Staff | Junior Doctor
Definitely no discrimination against international students at Griffith from what I’ve gathered. Everyone in my cohort seems to be doing very well, and international students are also guaranteed metro placements in clinical years.

I don’t really see how the markers of written papers would even know a student was international unless they specifically looked it up. I can’t comment on OSCEs and clinical year exams yet as I’m not at that level, however it’s not a problem as far as I’m aware.

Internship allocations largely come down to the priority groups that international students are placed at. I hear some JCU international students are often offered jobs at the hospitals they are doing their rotations at as students (because these are undersubscribed hospitals) but that’s not something I’ve heard of at Griffith or UQ (presumably because the teaching hospitals for these unis are oversubscribed rather than undersubscribed).

chinaski

Hello!