Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Dentistry Entry Discussion and Questions

Crow

Staff | Junior Doctor
ganshenme

Aug 6, 2019

I emailed them about this too: I'm a first year student who would have originally done 7 units instead of 8 units, due to underloading in my first semester. UQ told me in this case they will use whatever is higher out of my ATAR or GPA, whereas they will only use GPA if you have done 1FTE or more. they said the bonus points for maths and LOTE only applies to current Year 12 students for the year after they graduate, I.e. 2019 year 12 for 2020 entry
However, since my ATAR was just below 99, my only hope for getting the OP1 hurdle was a good GPA, yet for a student who had done less than a full time load, GPA conversion to selection rank was capped at 94. Only choice if you got below 99 is to do a full time load presumably by overloading and getting a 6.5 GPA

hope this helps

Reactions:Gav10, Cal Chuchesta and Aditya Shiva
Thank you very much for that. I’d love to see the original email from UQ. Both of these are non-standard applicants rather than gap year students.

It doesn’t make any sense to use someone’s ATAR but then not apply the bonus points that are applicable to everyone else’s ATAR, simply because they’re applying a year later. I also wonder if the situation would be treated differently for non-standards with less than 1FTE year of tertiary study completed and gap year students with no tertiary study completed. The wording on the UQ website is open to interpretation, I think, so an official copy-pasted or screenshotted email from UQ dentistry admissions would be nice for a 100% confirmation.

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but i put csu dent on my uac and today i reopened uac to change my preferences and i can no longer "review and submit" my application since it says that CSU dent is no longer available?????

Cal

vibe