Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Graduate Entry Medicine Advice Requests

A1

Rookie Doc
Thank you so much! I'm a bit confused as it said 'passed subjects will be ignored in GPA calculations' but does that mean instead subjects further than the last 3 years will be calculate?? For example if I did a 4 year degree and 2 subjects from my last year were passed from a non-graded pass system, will two subjects from the first year be calculated in the gpa instead to fill it up?

Reference > http://gemsas.edu.au/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/GEMSAS-GPA-guidelines_v2.pdf

"Ungraded subjects
A key degree may contain subjects that are assessed on a pass/fail basis. Typically, where these subjects have been passed, they will be included in the GPA year (i.e. their credits will count towards the year of study), but they will not affect the overall GPA. However, where these subjects comprise more than 37.5% of the GPA year, the GPA will be referred to the medical school for them to calculate a GPA."

So if you do a 4 year degree and 2 (out of 8) subjects from last year are ungraded, the Final Year GPA will be the total grade points of 6 subjects divided by 6. But the Final Year still comprises 8 subjects, you don't move 2 subjects from another year into it.

Note the number of ungraded can only be up to 37.5% = 3 out of 8 subjects in each year, otherwise it will be passed to the med school to decide.

AJ13

Hi, sorry if this question has already been answered, or belongs to a different topic. This is a long one so buckle yourself in.

I am in an interesting position. I have been studying at university for 4 years now, across 4 degrees. Because of this I have 80 units of ‘credit’ in my current degree (mainly 1st year subjects + 20 units of Potential electives).
Due to this I have enrolled into a combination of 1st and 2nd year subjects for this semester and was planning to do the same next semester.