A career in gas

Discussion in 'Postgraduate Forum' started by WantToGas, Mar 10, 2018.

1. WantToGas

WantToGas New Member

Hey ya'll,

I'm a student in NSW, I'm quite interested in becoming an Anaesthetist (or Anesthesiologist as with recent news). I'm just wondering, aside from developing the skills outlined on the QARTS referral form - ie. Lines, tubing, what can I start doing now to ensure I'm a competitive applicant in a few years?

My plan would be to try secure a PGY3 critcare SRMO position if I could and if all goes well be in a position to apply for PGY4 trainee jobs. I am however not too worried if it takes me longer to get on, am in no rush.

Would it be wise for me to apply for internship/RMO at places like Albury or Wagga? I ask this because they have gas terms for their interns and residents, whereas if I were to do my internship at say RNSH I'd not get a gas term until PGY3 (And that's if I'm lucky enough for a crit care SRMO at the same hospital!).

Would love to hear from anyone on the forum that's applied gas.

2. pi

pi Junior doctor Moderator

Junior doctor
    Hate to divert people away from MSO, but we have a very small community of doctors here, and most are relatively junior. If I were you, I'd join the PagingDr forum and then start reading this thread Login which is all about anaesthetics. If you have questions that aren't already answered in that thread, you can just reply and add them there :)

3. Benjamin

Benjamin Resident (JCU MBBS) Administrar