AMA Medicine Entry

Discussion in 'Medicine Entrance' started by Perplex, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Perplex

Perplex Moderator Moderator

Hi guys,

As a newly appointed mod I wanted to make my presence a bit more known. I thought a good way to do this would be by opening an AMA. I am currently studying medicine at a graduate level and would be happy to take any questions regarding the processes involved in getting into graduate medicine, and how it differs to undergraduate medicine. I'll post a detailed advice thread once UMAT results are out for students, detailing options based on scores. However, for now please feel free to ask any uni-related questions to me.

Last edited: Aug 9, 2018
    applecider, dapurplepizza, pi and 6 others like this.
  2. Yamster

Yamster Dental Moderator Moderator

Hi Perp,

I can see that you did a Medical Science degree as your undergraduate degree. I'm just wondering, what happened to those in your cohort that didn't get into medicine or pursue further studies? Are most working in labs/research based positions?

3. Perplex

Hi Yam,

Thanks for the question. Most people who did not get into medicine pursued study in other fields. Some of these fields included health-related disciplines such as physiotherapy, optometry and dentistry. On the other hand, some pursued completely different fields such as law and commerce. Some people did do Honours and have either started working in research or have continued on to do a PhD, but this forms the minority to the best of my knowledge. Only a very small fraction have started working full-time to the best of my knowledge. Of these people, they seem to be working in unrelated fields such as in commerce.
    Some people were not interested in research at all from the get go, and some tried it and disliked it, while others tried it and thoroughly enjoyed it. From what I know not that many people did honours.

Logic likes this.
  4. sixtythree

sixtythree New Member

Hi Perp,