Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Otago Getting Involved in Research

Bonesaw

Let me start off by saying i'm studying Med in the UK not NZ.

I'll be coming home soon in my break and I was just wondering if anybody has had experience working on/getting research or even case studies within a field they're interested in; I'll be applying for a US residency and research is quite an important factor and i'm already working on several publications (not relevant to where I want to end up) but i'd love to rack up a few in either Vascular or Orthopedic surgery.

Is the approach just email them and ask basically or is this less common in NZ? (I haven't been back for awhile and I have a substantial break coming up)

Quick easy question :)

Thanks.

rustyedges

Let me start off by saying i'm studying Med in the UK not NZ.

I'll be coming home soon in my break and I was just wondering if anybody has had experience working on/getting research or even case studies within a field they're interested in; I'll be applying for a US residency and research is quite an important factor and i'm already working on several publications (not relevant to where I want to end up) but i'd love to rack up a few in either Vascular or Orthopedic surgery.

Is the approach just email them and ask basically or is this less common in NZ? (I haven't been back for awhile and I have a substantial break coming up)

Quick easy question :)

Thanks.

In my experiences, yes, emailing potential supervisors and asking is your best bet. Consultants who are also employed at universities are often more likely to have projects you can contribute to.

Bonesaw

In my experiences, yes, emailing potential supervisors and asking is your best bet. Consultants who are also employed at universities are often more likely to have projects you can contribute to.

Great thank you :)

Edit: Any advice on how long to wait between emailing different Dr's? (If they don't reply etc)

Last edited:

govpop