• ALL USERS: please familiarise yourself with the MSO Forum Rules (updated 03/08/20).
  • UCAT PREP COMPANY DISCUSSION: Site administrators have implemented a rule that states there is to be NO mention of UCAT prep companies. This includes discussion, recommendations, questions, and reviews, and extends to allusions, acronyms, and other other attempts to get around the rule. Offending content will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be warned and may be banned.

UMelb Government Study Assist Loans

Ally93

Lurker
Hi everyone,

Has anyone ever applied for one of these government loans to help you with your studies financially?
I have been studying for over a year now in the diploma of nursing course and I didn't know anything about these loan schemes until now, and I thought it would be a good idea to help me buy books, travel and with my materials fee's I still haven't paid (oops) lol.
I'm studying with Careers Australia and as far as I know they are a commonwealth supported place and they offered VET-FEE help which assisted my tuition fees, but I need some other kind of loan to help with my books and other things that I needed ages ago but too poor to buy...

Does anyone know if I'm eligible and what loan I can get? And how do you receive this loan? Do they pay it into your bank account with the amount you want or is it paid through a program like VET-FEE help?

If anyone could help me that would be appreciated, thanks!

Registered members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

tomw84

As far as I'm aware, you are referring to the range of tuition loans offered by the government - which include HECS-HELP for CSPs, FEE-HELP for FFPs, SA-HELP, OS-HELP and VET FEE-HELP. These all come under the "Study Assist" banner.

http://studyassist.gov.au/sites/studyassist/helppayingmyfees