Registered members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Griffith dent- 1st year uni student entry?

patelraj

Lurker
im a 1st year uni student and i want to transfer to griffith dent next year (2011). can i use my atar score or do i need to use my university marks? i did really well in hsc (99.8) but ive been slakcing off in uni....

Hutcherson

Emeritus Staff
Emeritus Staff
Unfortunately, if you have studied one year of full time at a tertiary level , they will most likely take your GPA into account and not your ATAR. You would have to ring them and ask which one they will assess. Good luck ^_^

KIWIpride

Can you confirm that with a link?
2 years ago, I was in the same situation. I was in my first year of uni with pretty average GPA but quite high NCEA marks (NZ high school qualification). When I applied, my 1st year first semester marks were considered for interviews and total 1st year GPA was considered for a place. This was confirmed by calling QTAC, however, this was 2 years ago..so might be different this year. But doubt its changed. I will try to find a link to this info. and post it here.

Derp

What type of GPA usually seems to get you in? Like 6.5 - 7ish?
@hutcherson - i recalculated mine :) my godddamn GPA is now 6.75...in australian system

Hutcherson

Emeritus Staff
Emeritus Staff
A 6.75 is excellent! Justin you have a good chance (assumption only) at getting into griffith dent. It really depends how many people apply as non-standards and if there are many people with a GPA higher than a 6.75. There might be a few, but you might be in the top pile of high GPA's. ^_^. That is an amazing GPA :)

monkey magic

"If you successfully completed (GPA> 3.75) a full time equivalent year of study in your current program at the time of consideration for application into Dental Science then you may have as your first order rank whichever is the highest - the one from your current study or the rank from your previous completed degrees.