Griffith Dentistry Entry 2019

Discussion in 'Dentistry Entrance' started by FutureDent19, Jul 6, 2018.

1. FutureDent19

FutureDent19 New Member

Hi I am currently studying at CQU Oral Health and am looking to apply for Griffith Dent next year. So far I am predicting a GPA of 6.5 at the end of this year (hopefully my second term marks are better than my first :/ ). Would I be competitive with this GPA or am I better off looking forward to next year to improve my marks? Did anyone in 2018 get in with a GPA lower than 6.7? Would it be best to apply at a few universities? Although I don't think I would score well in the UMAT

2. Chrismm

Chrismm New Member

These were some of the Griffith Dentistry offers from MSO (from 2018 offers thread):
    Dentistry
    7.00, NZ, non-standard, CSP
    7.00, non-standard, CSP
    7.00, non-standard, CSP
    7.00, non-standard, CSP
    6.90, non-standard
    6.875, non-standard, CSP
    6.875, non-standard
    6.875, non-standard
    6.79/6.84 (unsure), NZ, non-standard,

It's best to apply to more universities to increase your chances. It's probably too late to register for UMAT now if you haven't already. If you have, just give it your best shot.

3. esh

esh New Member

Hi, just wondering whether a GPA of 7 in a science degree will guarantee a place at Griffith for next yr? Also is there a chance that any previous undergraduate tertiary study (GPA around 6.4) will influence my selection rank?

4. LMG!

LMG! Moderator (UTAS MBBS) Most Helpful Member and Staff Member of the Year 2017-2018

Clinical Psychologist
    Ooh, the first part of that is a yes, but I actually have no idea if the second part negates anything.

Crow or Yamster will know more.

5. Yamster

Yamster Dental Moderator DJ May

QTAC says a secondary ranking is determined and used when appropriate (the meaning's quite vague but I think they only use it in tie-breaker situations). A GPA of 7 should get you in provided that you've got 1 year of full time studies. :)