Registered members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Internship question

Nic001

Hey I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place...if not apologies, please direct me where I need to go.

I'm studying Med at UTAS, just wondering is it possible to get an internship in Melbourne where I live?

looroo

Hey I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place...if not apologies, please direct me where I need to go.

I'm studying Med at UTAS, just wondering is it possible to get an internship in Melbourne where I live?
Hi Nic,
Its definitely possible to get an intern job in Melb after graduating from UTAS. I didn't apply to VIC last year, but I know that several of my friends (graduates from UTAS) got first round offers to the Alfred, RMH, the Austin, Southern Health and Geelong and are enjoying their internship at these hospitals.
You do have to bear in mind though, that the numbers of med students graduating are increasing by large numbers (the "med student tsunami") and there is a finite number of intern spots... which is making, and will make, getting an intern job at the more popular hospitals, more competitive.

Applications for VIC are through the PMCV computer matching site: http://computermatching.pmcv.com.au/index.cfm
But for VIC you have to apply to the individual hospitals as well, so its best to visit their intern/junior doctor pages on the hospital websites.

VIC hospitals also have an open day every year (I think roughly in May?), so you'll be able to find more information and talk to reps from each hospital directly at the open day

raymdc-89

I've been hearing that a few HECS students at UTAS applying this year are having serious troubles trying to get interviews from Vic and NSW. Tas is still probably safe, but this will change with each passing year.

JeremiahGreenspoon