Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

James Cook University - Questions + Post your Progress!

wicked

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to MSO, but have 'lurked' around for a while checking the status for Dentistry. I have applied for JCU Dentistry this year, but after doing some research on OP's, I am a little worried. I know you probably get asked this a lot, but I thought we could have a thread where all questions are asked, and where people can post when they get an offer. :lol:

I was wondering, what is the lowest OP people have heard of for JCU Dentistry? I've just finished High School, I am a rural applicant, but am unsure if I will get better than an OP 10. The Guidance Officer predicted (very broadly) between a 12 (he thinks I'll get better than that) and a 5 (being incredibly unlikely). But I have heard an OP 8 for Dentistry (from Cairns) and an OP 14 for Pharmacy (rural applicant) at JCU, so I am a little unsure how I'll go.

Thanks for all the help!! (yy)

Hutcherson

Emeritus Staff
Emeritus Staff
The fact that your rural will be taken into consideration alot :) and will depend how good your application is. Good luck ^_^. I also heard the lowest they have accepted into BDS @ JCU was an OP 8 aswell.

wicked

I think my application went well as I got my English teacher to check, re-check and re-re-check. :p I said a lot in my application that I want to work rural because I've come from a rural area, I've done all this stuff at JCU with science, blah blah blah..... I think it was good. :p

Does anyone know if many offers happen after the major offer dates? I know that phone calls happen from the 24 December right through to February, but are there many after the 13 January? I'm a little worried because I need to let JCU Townsville know by the 21st January about accommodation (I have a conditional offer there).

Thanks!!! :)

Igloo1994