Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

JCU dentistry 2010

flic818

Hey all
I got an offer to JCU dent but due to financial reasons I dont think I will be able to take it this year.
Im planning on defering but I don't know if financial reasons is a good enough reason. Plus if my application is declined do you think they will take away my position?

If ANYONE knows anything thatd be much appreciated. I've spent all day trying to contact the faculty and no one has been answering.

THANKS in advance

Future Doctor

Hi FutureDoc,
Do you still have your MBBS as first preference and wait for the second round?

Hey. Yer i do.. I am so so happy with dentistry though.. How about you? Did you receive an offer, and if so where will you be staying?

Edit: Aaa sorry i just read your other posts =]

Dent Kid

Lurker
Hey Everyone,

Im a second year dental student at Jcu Cairns, and thought id offer some friendly info and advice.
Firstly, the course is absolutely awesome, initially like alot of people i was quite med incline, but getting into dentistry was definitely for the best.

It was pretty scary i guess at the start, i went up there without knowing a single person but like someone said earlier in the thread you make friends really fast. i guess this can be attributed to my staying at Cairns student lodge.

Most of the students studying dentistry (who weren't cairns locals) stayed here atleast for the first semester (about 30 of us). The rooms are decent, you can request air con, which you defs need in cairns. The area is fairly convenient for food (iga and kfc across the road) and is like a 2 minute drive to the shopping centre (Smithfield).
All meals are provided at the lodge, and like most boarding accommodation isn't the best. But its okayy, i tend to buy food from outside a fair bit :p