Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

LaTrobe La Trobe Dentistry: Biology Prerequisite

I know this question sounds stupid.. but will not doing biology in year 12 mean that there is absolutely no chance of getting into la trobe university for dentistry even if i make the atar cut-off?

mecramarathon

well in looking at the website i fink biology and chemistry are definite pre-requisites

which makes me :(

cause i did chem and phy

drizzy

Dentistry - What if I don't have the prerequisites?
I am a Year 12 student, however I do not have the Chemistry/Biology subject required for Dentistry, what can I do?
Bachelor of Health Sciences in Dentistry/Master of Dentistry

Prerequisites
VCE Units 3 & 4: Study scores of at least 35 in any English (or 40 in ESL) and at least 35 in Biology and Chemistry.

Students who do not have the Biology/Chemistry prerequisite have the option to study with Open University Australia to complete a bridging courses in Biology and/or Chemistry. Students need to be aware the time required to complete the course in relation to the VTAC closing dates.

Alternatively, students may elect to undertake the Bachelor of Health Sciences as a pathway into the Bachelor of Health Sciences in Dentistry/Master of Dentistry. A transfer from one course into another course at La Trobe is not available automatically. Since the number of applicants frequently exceeds the number of places available, all applications are considered on the basis of academic merit.

Directly from La Trobe.

I'm not sure what's the requirement in 2011(this year's year 12s), but I got an offer for Dent this year(I'm a 2010 year 12 student), even though I haven't studied biology.

I know this question sounds stupid.. but will not doing biology in year 12 mean that there is absolutely no chance of getting into la trobe university for dentistry even if i make the atar cut-off?