Auckland Nurse wanting to pursue career in med

Discussion in 'NZ General Discussion' started by Asparagushead, May 8, 2017.

1. Asparagushead

Asparagushead New Member

Hi everyone,

This might be something slightly different. Fresh out of high school, I started a degree in health sciences at Uoa in 2008 in the hopes of getting into med. Obviously I didn't do well academically and my GPA wasn't good enough to get me an interview. I powered through the degree anyway, in the hopes of applying through the graduate entry. But by the end of this I felt exhausted and some personal issues meant I didn't apply and instead started a health promotion job. This is before realising I really did not want to do a an office job and started thinking about getting back into health care again. So I started a nursing degree because it took only three years to complete and because I didn't feel I was good enough to do med. I have been practicing as a nurse for the past three years and in this timeframe I have also completed a masters degree. Throughout my journey I have never really stopped yearning to do med and now at 27, I am wondering how I can get back into it. I realise this seems a bit nuts but it's something I cannot stop myself thinking about.

Here is the tricky bit. My masters degree was done part-time while working almost full-time and as a result my results aren't perfect. My GPA is a petty 6. But I am adamant to see this dream I had fulfilled. Over the years I have matured and I would like to think I have developed good work ethics that would get me through med school. I also have a sizeable income and am blessed with a partner to support me through this journey. My concern is how do I do this. I realise I cannot go back to Auckland uni do the first year entry, but I also realise I cannot do the graduate entry with my current grades. Same applies for Otago.