Registered members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Options Available

Kinetica

Hi All

I have completed 6 months of my MD degree overseas. (I'm an Australian citizen and resident). I continually read the barriers particularly pertaining to obtaining an internship for IMG's and am therefore attempting to reevaluate my options. Any suggestions of whether I should continue with my current course or should I seek a spot in Australia? (Captain Obvious you may say however here is my situation).

* I completed my degrees more than 10 years ago and my understanding is that all of the graduate programs only accept if study prior to 10 years ago.
* I did GAMSAT a few years ago prior to knowing the 10 year rule and scored 62 (Not great but not terrible I guess).
* I'm non-rural.
* I applied to JCU last 2 years but not even got a look in, even with a GPA of 6.7.

So, do I continue with my current degree and hope that I can secure an internship after completing the AMC exams (these don't worry me too much. Im used to exams). Or what other options do I have?

Thanks

chinaski

Captain Obvious still applies. If you want to get an internship in Australia, study in an Australian university. The AMC exams aren't the issue here; the fact will still be that Australia has no need to import PGY1 doctors, so even if you pass those exams with flying colours, the door still won't be open.

Kinetica

Thanks Chin. Do you know recent stats on number of IMGs that applied and of which offered internship.

As for the suggestions, do you have any more specific info other than study in Australia?

Thanks

pi

Junior doctor
Emeritus Staff
Didn't we all warn you about these issues a year or so ago? Did you end up going to OUM? How do we know you're going to take any of our advice this time?

chinaski

Thanks Chin. Do you know recent stats on number of IMGs that applied and of which offered internship.
Nope, but I'd wager I could count them on one hand.