Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Possibility of Interstate Internship/Residency

Hi!
So I'm from Sydney and I've received an offer for provisional med. at UQ in Brisbane. I was wondering if I finished my MD at UQ (in 7 yrs or end of 2024), what would be the chances of an internship in NSW? I'm a bonded student too and I've heard it's possible to do part of my RoS in my internship year? so since i'll be applying for rural hospitals in NSW, will that improve my chances if I put that down for my 1st pref? I'd just really like to come back to NSW and be closer to my family.

Reactions: May

Mana

there are no stupid questions, only people
Administrator
Hi!
So I'm from Sydney and I've received an offer for provisional med. at UQ in Brisbane. I was wondering if I finished my MD at UQ (in 7 yrs or end of 2024), what would be the chances of an internship in NSW? I'm a bonded student too and I've heard it's possible to do part of my RoS in my internship year? so since i'll be applying for rural hospitals in NSW, will that improve my chances if I put that down for my 1st pref? I'd just really like to come back to NSW and be closer to my family.

If the situation doesn't change in 7 years time, then if you are applying rural (RPR) in NSW you should get an internship in NSW as a category 2. If you are from a particular rural region you might be able to use this for your RPR interview.

For more info about this you can check the HETI internship website at internship-nsw - HETI

That said, you aren't guaranteed any particular rural site if you apply through RPR, so be prepared to be sent somewhere further than what you might have wanted.

B2

Does anyone know the situation for internship positions in south Australia ? Finished highschool in SA but studying medicine in Queensland. Would it be possible to go back ?

If not, how does the process work to go back for residency / specialty training ?

Thank you !

pi

Junior doctor
Emeritus Staff