Auckland Review of my Neuroscience Degree + tips

Discussion in 'NZ General Discussion' started by whatismyname, Jan 2, 2018.

1. whatismyname

whatismyname Member

G’day, MSO has been super helpful over the last few years in terms providing information about papers and courses and I just want to give something back. So I have decided to do a little review of my neuroscience degree and give some information about the papers that I have completed. I will also try give some helpful tips for those aiming for Medicine.

A little about me: I completed my neuroscience degree at the end of 2017 at Otago, I had a Auckland GPA of 8.36 and a UMAT score of 139 (31st percentile). However, for section one, my UMAT score was below threshold and hence I was not eligible for Medicine at Otago Uni. Thankfully, I was accepted into Auckland Medical School, I give the glory to God for that.

Onto the papers:

PHSL341 and PHSL342 (A+ for both): Difficulty: 6.5/10

These were interesting papers and well organized! Most of the lecturers provided some interesting content and they were more than happy to help you out with difficult concepts, all you had to do was ask. The cool thing about theses papers is that you get do a small research project in groups during the labs which is actually pretty fun. The internal assessments are a 5% research proposal, 25% report and a 10% presentation, all of which is based on your research project. The final exam consists of essay style questions. There are only 2 lectures per week for each paper so its not that bad! I would highly recommend these two papers.

ANAT242 (Grade: A): Difficulty: 7.5/10