School students discussion/enquiries

Discussion in 'NZ General Discussion' started by Hari, Jan 20, 2011.

1. Hari

Hari Member

Hi

I am currently a year 13 student doing NCEA sadly :( But i remember reading somewhere that CIE students find HSFY relatively ok because it is similar? Please correct me if i am wrong.

I was considering taking AS level Bio Chem Physics and Thinking skills

If i had known earlier I would have done the A levels but its too late for that now.

Will i really gain Leverage if i do take the CIE AS level exams this year?

2. the_international

the_international Member

Hey seriously I did NCEA it didnt really matter, alot of the stuff from chem is in year13, and alot of the physics is in year12/13 too they teach you the type of thinking required anyway I didnt really feel disadvantaged doing NCEA as although the material may differ the study techniques I learnt were what really mattered. Alot of people will try discouraging you for doing NCEA, ignore them it wont make any difference.

3. greenglacier

greenglacier Emeritus MSO Staff Emeritus

Oh dear, this could cause a fuss... CIE vs. NCEA has been debated on this forum before (most recently in the last week), so it's a polarising issue and I wouldn't expect any consensus.

This is my opinion on the matter (though there's a reasonable chance someone will contradict it... just a warning in advance):