Some words of advice from a dentist

Discussion in 'Dentistry Entrance' started by ady, May 23, 2018.

1. ady

ady New Member

Hey guys, I am a dentist and just wanted to share some ideas from my experience for future aspiring dental students who are either school leavers or mature aged students (like I was when I applied for dental school). As a prospective dental student applying to dental schools in Australia I found that the most challenging aspect in the whole application process was actually the dental school interview (of course a good GPA/ATAR and UMAT score is important before you can reach the interview stage). I found that particularly if you are someone who has no prior background in the dental profession that it's difficult to translate your enthusiasm into words when being interviewed.

From my experience I would recommend the following tips for aspiring dental students (apart from the obvious attainment of high GPAs/ATARs and UMAT/GAMSAT scores):

-Volunteering/Shadowing at a dental clinic where you get to hang out with a dentist for the day! Whilst this might be difficult in the private setting, hopefully you can find a family dentist locally that's happy for you to tag along for a day and see first hand what it's like being in the dental environment. It would be even better if you get to go overseas or locally/regionally to volunteer in a medical/dental camp where you get to assist and ask lots of questions to the working dentists and check out for yourself whether you like the work or not.