Studying Medicine Overseas

Discussion in 'Overseas Practice' started by GMC, Jul 25, 2018.

1. GMC

GMC New Member

Hello,

I am a year 10 student (yes, I know, still pretty young to be thinking about this) and I really want to study medicine. However, I am sure that I don't want to do it here. I have been thinking about studying in Europe (UK, France, Scandinavia + others) but want to know about possible problems associated with this. I am aware that having obtained a degree from another country, it can be difficult to return to Australia, but what about working in that country? Language is not necessarily a problem as I am fluent in French and can get around in Norwegian. And I am also quite indecisive, so I fear beginning a course only to find I don't like it.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated xx

2. Mana

Mana Resident Medical Officer (UNDS MBBS) Administrar

Junior Medical Officer
    In my signature is a link titled "Common Pitfalls to avoid" - give that a read and then ask any further questions after you've read it.

GMC likes this.
  3. chinaski

chinaski Regular Member

Much of the answer to your question will hinge on whether you are entitled to citizenship in any of the European countries that interest you. As a member of the EU, your right to reside and work in aligned countries is secure, and miles easier than if you come as a foreigner. Bear in mind, Brexit will soon mean that the UK is stand alone, as are other countries that do not belong to the EU (which includes Norway).

4. GMC

GMC New Member

Thank you for your help! So, you'd definitely advise against it? What about studying interstate? I live in Melbourne, would studying in any other state increase/decrease my chances?

5. chinaski

chinaski Regular Member

Increase or decrease your chances of what, exactly? Working overseas? Working in Australia? You're all over the place here.

6. GMC

GMC New Member

Increase/decrease chances of getting in to a uni, then getting an internship.