To those of you who have studied/are currently studying medicine, how did you know it was for you?

Discussion in 'Studying Medicine' started by chefcurry30, Apr 1, 2018.

1. chefcurry30

chefcurry30 New Member

So as the headline says, I was wondering how you guys knew that medicine was right for you. I am currently a first year university student and honestly, I am unsure where I want to end up, regarding my career. However, postgrad medicine is something that I am contemplating but I do not know enough about what life as a medical student/doctor is like. This led me to wonder what aspects usually draw people to study medicine, aside from the 'wanting to help people'. As far as I know, medicine is a very demanding profession yet it can be very rewarding but I was wondering how so. So, in summary, I would love to know what aspects drew you guys to study medicine and how did you know it was the right degree/career to pursue? Thank you in advance!

2. pi

pi Junior doctor Moderator

Junior doctor
    I don't think anyone really knows what it's like until they try it. What I thought medical school would be like was different to the reality. Similarly, what I thought being a junior doctor would be like was different to the reality. You never really know until you're in the thick of it, so in short: I didn't know it was the right degree/career to pursue when I started because no one knows, medicine (for the vast vast majority) isn't a calling, it's just another road one can take in life, nothing special about it.

acbard9, Isiyara and chefcurry30 like this.
  3. GJ07

GJ07 Member