USyd USyd Medicine: Undergraduate Major Options

Guillaume

Lurker
Hi,

I'm currently in my first year at USYD. I'm still not sure what Science major I'd like to do for Uni before I try get into med. Ideally, there wouldn't be much overlap if at all because I want to learn as much as possible and not have content repeated. So far, I'm enrolled as a Biochem/Molecular Bio major. Would this give me firm foundations for later on? It is possible to get a job with a BSci (BioChem)?

Thanks!

dotwingz

Google Enthusiast
Hi,

I'm currently in my first year at USYD. I'm still not sure what Science major I'd like to do for Uni before I try get into med. Ideally, there wouldn't be much overlap if at all because I want to learn as much as possible and not have content repeated. So far, I'm enrolled as a Biochem/Molecular Bio major. Would this give me firm foundations for later on? It is possible to get a job with a BSci (BioChem)?

Thanks!

Realistically you want to do something that you enjoy, and have no problem going above and beyond in order to get a competitive GPA aswell as something with good job prospects on the other side. Very few schools have prereqs, and of those that do they are only 2 or 3 courses.

From what ive heard, majors like Data Science, Computer Science, and Stats can lead to pretty good employment outcomes, but if you wont enjoy them dont pick it.

Guillaume

Lurker
Realistically you want to do something that you enjoy, and have no problem going above and beyond in order to get a competitive GPA aswell as something with good job prospects on the other side. Very few schools have prereqs, and of those that do they are only 2 or 3 courses.

From what ive heard, majors like Data Science, Computer Science, and Stats can lead to pretty good employment outcomes, but if you wont enjoy them dont pick it.

Yeah rn my second major is CS.