Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Internship: Victoria Explanation and Questions

rach 93

Lurker
Hi Guys

I am currently a first year Medical Student and was all ready thinking about future job prospectus ( 4.5 years away i know) !

I am studying in Queensland but i will be wanting to apply for an internship in Melbourne, Victoria . I know currently interstate medical graduates are 3rd in preference , none the less people from interstate are getting jobs in Melbourne :)

Was just wondering what i should be doing from now and then to improve my chances of getting a Job in Melbourne ??

Thanks in advance,

Raj.

pi

Junior doctor
Emeritus Staff
In following from the brilliant thread Mana created for NSW, I thought I would share my experiences and try and decode the Victorian internship application process for everyone. I went through the process in 2017 (for 2018 Internships) and although at the time of writing this information is current, they are of course subject to change and the responsibility lies with you to get the most up-to-date information available.

Fundamentals

How does Victoria select its interns?
Victoria is one of the few states in Australia that employ a merit system for intern allocation. This means that each candidate is scored by each health service they apply to, and the best candidates get the job. There are a range of factors that hospitals use in order to determine who is "best", and I shall detail that in my post here. It is worth noting that this is a vastly different system to other states such as NSW, which essentially have a ballot system instead.

What priority group am I in Victoria?
The priority groups in Victoria are as follows: