Entrance InformationMedicineMonash UniversityUndergraduate Medicine Universities

About Medicine at Monash

About Medicine at Monash University
Monash University was established in 1958 and is the second-oldest university in Victoria. There are eight campuses, with three (Clayton, Gippsland and Sunway) offering studies in medicine. Medicine has been offered since the first intake of the university in 1961 and currently has approximately 2500 students enrolled.

About the Medical Curriculum
The current medical curriculum was introduced in 2001 and is five years long, featuring patient-centred learning and fully-integrated learning. There are four themes comprising the course:
Theme I – Personal and Professional Development
Theme II – Population, Society, Health and Illness
Theme III – Scientific Basis of Clinical Practice
Theme IV – Clinical Skills
The first two years of the course are taught on-campus, while the last three years feature full-time learning in healthcare environments affiliated with Monash’s Clinical Schools.

Centre for Medical and Health Sciences Education, Clayton Campus.

Year 1 and 2
Years 1 and 2 are taught through a variety of modalities, including lectures, practicals, tutorials, CBL or PBL sessions, and student placements. Contact hours are roughly 27 hours a week, with all four themes contributing towards the focus of the week, embodied in the CBL or PBL cases. Each theme has a focus in each semester, and these are:

Semester 1 (MED1011):
Theme I – Medical Law, Medical Ethics, Health Enhancement Program
Theme II – Health, Knowledge, Society
Theme III – Foundations of Medicine: The Fabric of Life
Theme IV – The Medical Interview, Handwashing and Injecting

Semester 2 (MED1022):
Theme I – Health Enhancement Program
Theme II – Population Health
Theme III and IV- Upper and lower limbs, musculoskeletal, cardiovascular and peripheral nervous systems

Semester 3 (MED2031):
Theme I – Community Based Placement
Theme II – Information Management and Health Promotion
Theme III and IV – Chest and abdomen, respiratory, renal, endocrine, haematopoietic and gastrointestinal systems

Semester 4 (MED2042):
Theme I – Community Based Placement
Theme II – Information Management and Health Promotion
Theme III and IV – Head and neck, reproductive and central nervous systems, behavioural medicine

Year 3

The focus of Year 3 is “Integrated Medicine and Surgery”. Students are placed at one hospital network for the whole year and through a mix of formal classes and bedside teaching, learn further about medicine and surgery, especially in the context of diagnosis. Each hospital network runs their own program, but covers the same curriculum.
The hospital networks for Year 3 are:

  • Alfred/Epworth/Sandringham Hospitals
  • Cabrini Hospital
  • Monash Medical Centre
  • Dandenong Hospital
  • Box Hill/Maroondah/Angliss Hospitals (with Deakin University year 3 students)
  • Casey Hospital
  • Frankston Hospital/Rosebud Hospital/Golf Links Road Rehabilitation Centre
  • Bendigo Health (with University of Melbourne year 2 students)
  • Mildura Base Hospital
  • West Gippsland Hospital
  • Latrobe Regional Hospital
  • Gippsland Base Hospital

Central Clinical School, The Alfred Centre.

Year 4
Year 4 consists of 4 9-week rotations in the fields of Women’s Health, Children’s Health, General Practice, and Psychological Medicine. Students are placed at appropriate clinical sites for each of these rotations, to learn about these specialties. Students rotate to different sites for each of these rotations, except for students who are rurally located, who complete an integrated year based at both a hospital and a general practice, designed to harmonise with the specifics of their locations.

Year 5
Year 5 consists of 6 6-week rotations, plus one 6-week holiday period, designed to transition medical students into the internship role. The medical student is expected to take an active role in the management of patients under supervision, and completes rotations at various hospitals (including Monash’s Johor Bahru Clinical school in Malaysia) and other settings in:

  • Aged Care
  • Elective
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Medical
  • Specialty
  • Surgical

As well as continuous assessment throughout the course, the Vertical Integrated Assessment (VIA) at the ends of Years 2 and 4 assess all course knowledge learnt up to that point in the degree and provide a way for control over the quality of students. Passing the VIA is a barrier requirement for the medical course.

Extended Rural Cohort (ERC):
30 students in the Monash MBBS curriculum at the Central Medical School spend 5 out of 6 of their clinical semesters in hospitals and other healthcare providers in Northern and Northwest Victoria, provided for students who are interested in future rural practice. They are either based at the Bendigo or Mildura Clinical Schools in each year, and during 5th year they complete one rotation in a metropolitan hospital.

Students, after completing second year until their graduation, are permitted to take a year leave of study from the MBBS to study the BMedSc(Hons) degree. This one year degree allows students to research in a medical science field of their choice, under the mentoring of one of Monash’s many medical research staff.

The new offices of the East Gippsland Regional Clinical School, Bairnsdale campus, opening in 2012.

Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences: Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
MUMUS (Medical Student Association): MUMUS 2012
Handbook entry for Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery: Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (0040) – Undergraduate Course – Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – Monash University Handbooks 2012 – Monash University