Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

From Medicine to Trains - Cathay's Journey

Cathay

🚂Train Driver🚆
Emeritus Staff
[Note: this was originally posted as a Blog, but due to complications in the site upgrade process, it hasn't been viewable as a blog since the upgrade. I believe Isuru was working on retrieving the blog and re-posting it as an Article, but since I have the original content saved in a word document, this might save some work retrieving it. Here it is, re-published as an Article.]

1 – Prologue: It’s Been a While

I was asked if I could write a blog.

Writing a blog. Writing. Somehow “writing” has become a slightly unfamiliar concept.

It’s been a while since I wrote something that wasn’t a functional work email or a job application, and it’s been a while since I last browsed MSO regularly.

It’s been a while since I was a medical student, too.

Some might say that this could’ve been prevented. That THEY would’ve seen this coming, that Otago could’ve had interviews for medicine, that clinical medicine should’ve been integrated into the earlier parts of the programme. They are, as we call it, the “would’ve, could’ve, should’ve” brigade.

The fact remains, that I was a medical student, and I am not anymore.

That’s not because I graduated and became a doctor, by the way. I didn’t.

I didn’t finish my medical degree. Somehow it still hurts a little to say that. Perhaps that’s my pride, perhaps I should “localize” this pain and mark it for surgical removal.

Hah, listen to me try to talk the medical talk.

“What happened??!” I can almost hear a million voices crying out, almost as though I’m sensing a great disturbance in the Force.

“Parents made me go there, I didn’t like it, so I quit.” – this is the simple version I tell people at work when they first find out about my past life as a medical student, and demand to know why on earth I’m working there.