Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

First Year OLY1 Advice Requests

Hello everyone,

To preface my queries below, I have read through this forum quite a bit - especially the mature student posts as i believe i will fall into that category (i am 25).
I graduated in 2017 with a Bachelors of Commerce (Accounting & Comlaw) and Science (Computer Science & Statistics) from UoA, unfortunately my GPA is not competitive at 6.1/9 - the graduate option is out of my grasp.

I have no background in the physcial sciences. I have a chartered accounting qualification that I received this year, this is a diploma but has no advantage at this stage until I (hopefully) make it to the interview. I have been working at my current job at a big4 accounting firm for 3 years now.

Here is my current plan in getting accepted into the BHSc first year programme, could I please have your input and experiences to know if i am even likely in getting a place to try for a place in medicine:

1. Addressing the science gap -

I have enrolled in a Biology and Chemistry foundation paper at Massey University starting in Nov 2020 to Feb 2021. I know these will be helpful for me, I have contacted the course co ordinators and they have specified this will get me to a level 3 understanding of Bio and Chem. This to me still seems like I will be on the backfoot but less so and i may have a fighting chance.

I appreciate the BHSc is first year chem and bio, however i will be competeing with people that have had years to master this, whereas i will have six weeks (self inflicted though). Could anyone who has gone through this let me know how useful it was, or if there are other materials i can pick up to ensure i'm not looking at completely foreign content when (if) i get in. I would also like to know, how much of a disadvantage am i going up against here.

I think this is all i can do for the science gap, and it will simply have to be made up for during study.

2. BHSc entry into FY -