Registered  members with 100+ posts do not see Ads

Article Productivity - Time Management - Working a full time job while tying to get into Medicine

MSO Articles

Staff
Administrator
Productivity - Time Management - Working a full time job while tying to get into Medicine

As a student, the ability to plan out and allocate your available time to commitments and tasks you need to complete is a bit of a juggling act. Although some students managed to master this pretty early on, effectively managing available time is still a work in progress for others. When I was at university, my main priorities were study, work and maintaining my social life. The balance was easy to maintain without significant compromises. After completing my tertiary studies and entering the workforce full time, time management became far more complex. No one really prepares you for that part.

I currently work full time in the field of molecular diagnostics (but am working towards getting into medicine). In the first couple of years following my graduation, I fell into a simple routine: go to work, go home, have dinner, squeeze in an hour or two of your favourite TV show, shower, sleep and repeat. Because I did not give myself the opportunity to have fun or maintain a social life, I eventually became burned out. I neglected relationships outside of work because trying to initiate a catchup looked something like:

View attachment 4550

In an effort to alleviate my burnout, I made the decision to be intentional about making the most of the time available to me in a day. It took a few trials (and failed attempts) to figure out what works for me, but the following tools have been incredibly useful for managing my time:

1. Technology